Bharat Ratna 2024: Narendra Modi Government Recognizes Icons in Politics and Agriculture

Prime Minister Narendra Modi made a significant announcement regarding the recipients of the prestigious Bharat Ratna 2024, India’s highest civilian award. In an unprecedented move, five individuals have been chosen for the honor, including former prime ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, as well as renowned agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan. Traditionally, three Bharat Ratna awards are conferred each year. The awards will be conferred to the recipients by the President of India.

Karpoori Thakur

Karpoori Thakur, a native of Bihar’s Samastipur District, is one of the awardees. Serving as the chief minister of Bihar twice, from December 1970 to June 1971 and later from December 1977 to April 1979, Thakur played a mentoring role for several present-day leaders in the state, such as Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and RJD president Lalu Prasad Yadav.

LK Advani

Another Bharat Ratna 2024 awardee, LK Advani, served as the BJP national president during multiple periods between 1986 and 2005. Advani, with a parliamentary career spanning almost three decades, held key positions such as Home Minister and Deputy Prime Minister in Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s cabinet from 1999 to 2004.

PV Narasimha Rao

PV Narasimha Rao, born in 1921 in Andhra Pradesh’s Karimnagar, held the position of prime minister from June 21, 1991, to May 16, 1996. An agriculturist and advocate, he also served as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh and held various ministerial roles, including External Affairs, Home Affairs, and Defence.

Chaudhary Charan Singh

Chaudhary Charan Singh, born in Meerut in 1902, served as the prime minister from July 28, 1979, to January 14, 1980. With a political career that began in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly in 1937, he also served twice as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh.

MS Swaminathan

Agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan, born in 1925, is acknowledged as the father of the Green Revolution in India. His educational journey includes degrees from Maharajas College, Coimbatore Agricultural College, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), and a PhD from Cambridge University, UK.

Established in 1954, the Bharat Ratna 2024 is open to individuals without discrimination based on race, occupation, position, or gender. It is bestowed in recognition of exceptional service or outstanding performance in any field of human endeavor. Recommendations for the award are made by the Prime Minister to the President. Recipients of the Bharat Ratna receive a certificate (Sanad) signed by the President and a medallion.

Leave a Comment